Atimonan Church

The Our Lady of the Angels Parish Church in Atimonan, Quezon was built in 1640. It stands facing Lamon Bay. About 130m in front was the Iskong Bantay monument (built c. 1752) which is the last surviving observation and defense tower. It serves as a guard post to protect the town from pirates.

Our Lady of the Angels Parish

Candelaria Church

The quasi-legendary history about the establishment of the church is that at the beginning of the 17th century a ship called Candelária almost sank during a storm on the sea.

Upon arriving in Rio de Janeiro, a Portuguese couple, António Martins Palma and Leonor Gonçalves sponsored the building of a small chapel, fulfilling the oath they made during the storm. This small chapel, dedicated to Our Lady of Candelária, was built around 1609.

San Pedro Bautista Parish

Dolores Church

The Franciscan priests led by Fr. Diego de Oropesa and Fr. Juan de Plasencia arrived at Pilang Morong in 1572. As part of the established reducciones system, the Franciscans built the first church made from cogon and nipa in 1583. When Pilang Morong was given autonomy in 1599, the central government granted an authorization to construct a church of stone.

In 1632, a conflagration destroyed the church and the whole town. When a new church was built, another destruction by fire ruined the church in 1668. A new church was immediately completed between 1670 and 1673. Renovation of the church altar and the adjacent convent was completed in 1848. Several renovation projects were also completed between 1962 and 1976.

National Shrine of Our Lady of Sorrows

Gumaca Church

The church was named after Saint Didacus (San Diego in Spanish). He was born to a poor couple in San Nicolas Del Puerto and was given to a hermit as a young child. He joined the Order of Friars Minor (more popularly known as the Franciscans) which is a group advocating the simple, contemplative, and self-sacrificing lifestyle of Saint Francis de Assisi.

While Saint Didacus was assigned in the infirmary of the convent of Ara Coeli, many of the patients were miraculously cured upon his divine intercession.

Cathedral of San Diego de Alcala

Infanta Church

The ecclesiastical history of Rizal province dates back to 1573 when two Franciscan missionaries, Fr. Juan de Plasencia and Fr. Diego de Oropesa began establishing missions in towns and villages along the north coast of Laguna de Bay. One of the earliest established is a visita (sub-parish) is Pililla in Morong, Rizal, among them is Monte Tan-ay (now part of the present town of Tanay).

In 1583, Pillila separated from Morong and became an independent town and in turn, Monte Tan-ay evolved into a separate town and parish on its own right in 1606.

Saint Ildefonsus of Toledo Parish

Lopez Church

Our Lady of the Most Holy Rosary Parish is a first-class parish in the Diocese of Gumaca, belonging to the Vicariate of St. Peter. It is located in the municipality of Lopez in southern Quezon. It was founded in 1861 by Franciscan missionaries led by Rev. Fr. Jose del Valle, its first parish priest. It celebrates its annual feast day every October 7 featuring the Rosario Festival.

Our Lady of the Most Holy Rosary

Lucban Church

Franciscan priests Father Juán Portocarrero de Plasencia and Father Diego de Oropesa de San José, known as the Apostles of Laguna and Tayabas, established the visita of Lucban in 1578 and started evangelizing the people of the town. It was elevated as a parish in 1595 under Father Miguel de Talavera alongside the construction of its first church made of wood, dedicated to Saint Louis of Toulouse.

The first church was ruined in 1629 and a second church was established on the present site. Construction of the second church, made of stone, masonry, and nipa, proceeded from 1630 to 1640 and the convent was finished in 1650.
Church roofing was changed to tiles in 1683 under the supervision of Father Francisco Huerta.

San Luis Obispo de Tolosa Parish Church

Lucena Church

Do you have more to say and show? You can do it in this section. Add pictures and a short description to show visitors more of whatever it is you want.

Add a description here.

Macalelong Church

The town of Macalelon was established by the Franciscan Friars as early as 1787 and the parish erected under the protection of the Immaculate Conception only in 1875. However, the first church was built as early as 1854 and the Convent in 1870. 

This small church is one of the most interesting, especially the many folk bas reliefs that adorn its facade. The interior has already been renovated and what remains of the original structure is just the facade and a low stone wall for its nave.

Parish of the Immaculate Conception

Mauban Church

Do you have more to say and show? You can do it in this section. Add pictures and a short description to show visitors more of whatever it is you want.

Add a description here.

Pagbilao Church

The St. Catherine Parish was established by Franciscan Missionaries in 1685 who landed at a site now called Dinaungang-Pari. It had it beginnings in Barangay Binahaan when a church made of bamboo with cogon grass thatch roof was built in 1688, administered by Fr.Cristobal Mortanchez. In 1730, the church was moved to its present location with St.Catherine of Alexandria as Patron Saint, and Fr. Francisco Xavier de Toledo was the Parish Priest.

St. Catherine Parish

Polilo Church

In 1571, the Spaniard Miguel Lopez de Legazpi commissioned his grandson Juan de Salcedo to head an expeditionary force and take hold of the gold mines in Paracale, Camarines Norte of the Bicol region passing through Majayjay, Lucban and Mauban and winning some 26,000 Tagalogs over to the Spanish Crown.

The Christian faith was brought to the province of Tayabas (the name of Quezon Province then) through the Franciscan friars, Fr. Juan de Plasencia and Fr. Diego de Oropesa. The Franciscans were the second missionary group to the Philippines after the Augustinians who were with Legazpi in 1565. The first fourteen Franciscan missionary priests were assigned by Spanish Governor-General Francisco de Sande to the Tagalog and Bicol districts.

Shrine of St. Joseph

Sariaya Church

Based on the Historical marker of St. Francis of Assisi Church, the first structure was constructed in 1599.

The second church was built in 1605 but was replaced by a third church in 1641. In 1703 the town was transferred to Lumangbayan but the earthquakes and floods of 1743 destroyed the church and the town caused the people to transfer to the present site. The present church was built in 1748 during the term of 2 Spanish Friars namely, Fr. Martin de Talavera and Fr. Joaquin Alapont.

St. Francis of Assisi Parish

Tayabas Church

The Catholic community of Tayabas was established in 1578 by Franciscan priests Fray Juán Portocarrero de Plasencia and Fray Diego de Oropesa de San José, known as the Apostles of Laguna and Tayabas.

In 1580, the town of Tayabas was established as a parish with St. Michael the Archangel as its designated patron saint 1580. Like most churches in the Philippines during the Spanish colonial era, the first church of Tayabas was a camarin-type church built using bamboo, nipa and anahaw between 1580 and 1585 under the supervision of Franciscan friars.

Minor Basilica of Saint Michael the Archangel

Tiaong Quezon Church

Do you have more to say and show? You can do it in this section. Add pictures and a short description to show visitors more of whatever it is you want.

St. John the Baptist Parish